Using an iPad as a carer...your thoughts?

HappyChap

Jan 10, 2017
A newbie and seeking advice. My research suggested music was a key to unlocking memories. I thought by using an iPad to play music to a residents particular taste would be good and a way of building relationships. Have been told, as mobile phones are banned, my iPad cannot be used. Your thoughts?

Shedrech

Dec 15, 2012
UK
hello HappyChap
welcome to TP
I see that you are an activities co-ordinator, so I guess you are bound by the rules of the care home and your employment - I was a teacher and was not allowed to use a mobile whilst teaching, nor were the students - one risk was that photos might be taken/recordings made; apart from the obvious not making/taking calls while in the classroom
are mobiles banned for staff whilst on duty? or for use near/by residents? - is it because you might use an internet connection? - or that calls may be made on them?
it may be that using your personal iPad at work may be a dodgy idea in itself eg the risk of it being broken; the risk of your personal info being seen by others
might the home buy a device of its own so that you could record music to suit residents and play it on the home's player, so only music is involved
as you can probably tell, I don't know much about downloading - I still have vinyls, tapes and CDs, with rare visit to youtube
and yes, music is a powerful means of reaching people with dementia
best wishes

HappyChap

Jan 10, 2017
It's a modern world and although mobiles are banned, staff carry them about. My point, my iPad is no more a threat than the people concealing a mobile phone. I merely want to use my iPad as a tool to make me a better carer. I want to use it as 'Key' to opening up a smile or a memory. Misuse of the iPad should, without doubt, result in dismissal. All things taken into consideration, and taking into account we have a duty of care, is it a good idea in your opinion?