thompson ANGER

thompson

Jul 24, 2013
my dear husband suffers from this awful disease,it has changed our marriage from a very loving relationship to one of constant stress.I find I waken every day with a great anger in me . I lose my temper with him when he asks the same question over and over again or I ask him to do a simple task and he forgets within seconds. I find I am turning into a most horrible person and after I have scolded him I go of and cry.Please can someone help me give me some advice to keep calm with him as I know it hurts him terribly when I shout at him.

Izzy

Volunteer Moderator
Aug 31, 2003
Dundee
Hello and welcome. I'm so sorry to read about how you're feeling. I totally understand it though. I often lose my temper with my husband then get upset afterwards. I'm not the best person to advise! There is a thread though called Compassionate Communication. I am not too good at that but many others have found it useful. I will try to find it and post the link here in a minute it two. Izzy x

lin1

Jan 14, 2010
East Kent
Hello Thompson
Welcome to TP

I shouted at Mum sometimes and felt awful after
Its stress
as well as the trauma of seeing what this vile disease does to the ones we care for, its so hard to see someone you care about, as I call it,growing downwards.

You like I did with my mum are fighting in your own way to stop your husband forgetting how to do things etc, so you dont lose anymore of your husband than you already have, (I am not explaining myself very well, but I hope you understand)

try to forgive yourself , you not only need to be patient with your husband but also with yourself, no one is perfect we all make mistakes and lose our cool , hopefully in coming here you will find strategies that will help you

I hope you are getting some support/help