Struggling with losing mum

AT81

Nov 22, 2023
Mum passed away towards the start of June 2023, she had suffered with dementia at various stages for 6 or 7 years but for the last few years she was pretty much bed bound and non-communicative. Whilst I obviously found it difficult I felt that i had coped as well as could be expected. I went back to work (I am a secondary school teacher) a bit too early and struggled, so took some more time off before returning and then having a few more days off around the funeral. But seemed to then cope ok.

Seemingly out of nowhere this weekend I started to become low and very emotional again and seem to be struggling again. Thankfully work have been very supportive and I am taking a few days off to try and get myself back on an even keel. Is this pattern of a wave a grief normal?

I also feel massively guilty for a number of different reasons;
1) my brother is unemployed and was mum's main carer. As a teacher in another part of the country it was difficult to visit and I feel guilty that i didn't do enough.
2)I feel guilty that when I did visit in the last few years, I didn't spend as much time with as I could or left her sleeping as I didn't want to disturb her
3)When mum became non-communicative i think i started to grieve at this point but now feel guilty about this
4) In the last year my brother and I were asked about do not resuscitate notices and a few days before she passed we were asked if she should be taken to hospital or to be made comfortable at home, I know it was mum's wish that she didn't pass away in hospital and that she had very little quality of life but I still feel guilty about these decisions.
5)I feel guilty that on the day that she passed I didn't get to see her one last time, I had seen her about a week before, but she passed away about 25 minutes before I got there, could I have left the house sooner, driven faster, made it without stopping etc?