Second POA-Morals!

gkcannon1982

May 23, 2022
Hi.

So I’m an only child and my dad was an older dad. My mum left when I was young and he brought me up so we have a super special relationship. He has mixed dementia which has progressed quickly. I’m heartbroken as very hard.

Anyway he was sectioned before Christmas and now is finally in a wonderful nursing home.

I’m a nurse and I struggled with guilt over not being able to care for him but I realise and have accepted nursing care gives him the best quality of life.

I have POA for finance and property. Dad is funded under section 117. He owns his own and has a final salary pension so financially no issues.

Im going to rent his home out as a holiday home so we can keep it.

He has a will of which I’m the only beneficiary.

He set up the POA 12 years ago and I am one and an old family friend abeit a newish one!

However the documents specifically say all decisions can be made individually. The only time a joint decision is required is if the house needs to be sold.

This second POA has not seen me or my Dad since pre covid. No issues or callings out just circumstances. I reached out to her in November and we are to meet up to catch up.

The day we were due to meet Dad was sectioned so she was aware and this was 2nd December 2023. I heard nothing at all from them.

I realised I had to implement the POA as Dad needed supplies so set it up with the bank. The bank then wrote to the second POA, no idea what was said. Then put the blue the person contacted me asking for the original document. I said I couldn’t send it as it was with the social worker. It’s now with the nursing home. I need it to move forward with my Dads home etc.

Not once has she asked how he is or asked to visit him. She is requesting the documents as a matter of urgency and wants to meet up to talk and says things need to be discussed that are not for my children’s ears so I can’t bring them.