1. echo66

echo66 Registered User

May 28, 2015
    Female
    At the start of last week the doctor said you probably had a few months left. By the middle of the week he'd revised that to a few days. On Sunday your distress ended and you finally found some peace.

There are no words to adequately describe the grief, even though expected it doesn't lessen the impact.

I've been dropping in to see Mum every day for the past 12 years. Today was the first time it wasn't necessary. It's like a huge piece of a familiar ritual is missing.

I feel lost.

2. chippiebites

chippiebites Registered User

Jun 27, 2018
    Female
    Please try and take comfort that your Mum is at peace at last. As you say however much the loss was expected it doesn't lessen the impact. I hope you find the strength and courage to sustain you through the days to come. Mums are so special. Please be kind to yourself. xx

3. charlie10

charlie10 Registered User

Dec 20, 2018
    so sorry @echo66 ....loss of anyone is hard, but loss of your mum hits especially hard. Take care x

4. Izzy

Izzy Volunteer Moderator

Aug 31, 2003
    Female
    Dundee
    I'm so sorry for your loss @echo66. Sending my condolences and wishing you strength.

5. Grannie G

Grannie G Volunteer Moderator

Apr 3, 2006
    Kent
    12 years is a long time to give @echo66. Please accept my condolences and give yourself time to adjust.

6. canary

canary Registered User

Feb 25, 2014
    Female
    South coast
    ((((((((((((((((((((((hugs)))))))))))))))))))))))) @echo66

7. nellbelles

nellbelles Volunteer Host

Nov 6, 2008
    leicester
    @echo66 please accept my condolences on your sad loss

8. Bunpoots

Bunpoots Registered User

Apr 1, 2016
    Nottinghamshire
    My condolences @echo66

My dad died just before Christmas and it took me a while to get used to not having to visit him.

9. hilaryd

hilaryd Registered User

May 28, 2017