Proceeds of house sale in current account or executor account

stevie green

Mar 19, 2024
I have joint and several power of attorney and also am joint on my Mum’s bank account. When her house sells should the funds go into her joint current account or an executor account? Is an executor account only for after someone is deceased? My sister who has joint and several LPA with me wants us to use an executor account. Not sure what is right. Grateful for advice.

Arthurgeorge

Dec 16, 2020
An executor account is to hold the assets of a deceased person. Maybe open a new ( not executor ) bank account in your Mums name only for the house money.
Remember the rule that only £85000 is covered if the bank goes bust. You have a 6 month grace period to sort it, but after that need to make sure the money is spread with different banks.
I am only writing from my experience and I’m not an expert.

Last edited:

Louise7

Volunteer Host
Mar 25, 2016
Hello @stevie green yes, you are right, an executor account is for use after someone has passed away and is useful for probate purposes. You mention that you have a 'joint account' with your mum - do you mean that this is an account in your mum's name which you are named on as LPA? I have joint and several LPA with my sister and one of us is named as the LPA on mum's current account and when we sold her house the proceeds went into this account, paid in by the solicitor who handled the sale.