Princess Royal's Carers have given me he sack!

Nordholm123

Mar 2, 2012
Merseyside
HI.
My wife went into care with ALZ three years ago and I have been receiving help for the last 7 years since since she was diagnosed. Now, it appears that I no longer need this help. I received a phone call from my local branch to say that certain facilities would not be available to me any more and that I should look elsewhere for support.
Has anyone else been treated like this? I am still a carer am I not? I visit my wife twice a week and am still trying to cope with the unwanted condition of forced male widowhood. What do I do next?
N:confused:

piedwarbler

Aug 3, 2010
South Ribble
Hello Nordholm and welcome to TP.
I am sorry that you find yourself without support just when you need it. My mum's carers stopped coming the day she moved into a home but of course I did not live with her so it was different.
I hope someone comes along who can help.
Have you tried contacting your local branch of the AS?
Kind regards,

BeckyJan

Nov 28, 2005
Derbyshire
Hello and welcome to Talking Point.

I am sorry to hear about your wife and the fact she has been in a Nursing Home for 3 years. I do understand how it feels as my husband has also been in one for just over 3 years too.

I do not understand your situation fully so please forgive if I have misunderstood. I assume the Princess Royal carers came to help you whilst your wife was at home and you needed time some relief from the 24/7 care. I am very surprised that they were able to continue to help you following the move to a NH. Can you tell us what they were actually doing during the past 3 years?