Pca

henhut

Oct 9, 2017
New to this site. I am carer for my husband diagnosed with vascula dementia.pca.anyone else out there caring for someone with pca?

HillyBilly

Dec 21, 2015
Ireland
Hello Henhut and welcome to Talking Point.
Personally I have no experience of these types of dementia but I just wanted you to know that there are people here reading and posting and replying. Many are themselves carers and so often read and post at odd times. I'm sure there will be others along soon with personal experience.
In the meantime do keep reading around the forum and post away if you have any questions or worries x

canary

Feb 25, 2014
South coast
Hello henhut and welcome to Talking Point.
There are a few people on here who care for someone with PCA and Im sure they will be along.
My OH has FTD, which also one of the rarer types. I know that PCA starts with visual/spacial awareness problems. My OH started with behavioural and emotional problems and difficulties with decision making, but I have been surprised at how much overlap there is between the different dementias.

Kevinl

Aug 24, 2013
Salford
Agreed, don't get hung up about the exact diagnosis, it doesn't really matter. Everything to do with help, benefits, best way forward and dealing with issues are specific to your circumstances not the exact "name of the beast".
Some people never get an exact, or correct diagnosis as it's not always possible until after death, it's all just a name not how your lives will progress.
The more specific you get the less people reply, the issues are common to us all, the diagnosis often isn't but we're all here to help each other as much as we can.
K

Shedrech

Dec 15, 2012
UK
hello @henhut
and welcome to TP
I wonder whether you have come across this website, it may be helpful
http://www.raredementiasupport.org/pca/