Pacemaker and end of life.

Banjomansmate

Jan 13, 2019
Dorset
The Banjoman has just been put on “end of life care” in accordance with his Advance Directive and with my full agreement. I was phoned yesterday to say he had suddenly deteriorated and the GP for the Care Home had made the decision. As soon as I was able to I went and spent some time with him, he obviously has a chest infection and will not be given antibiotics.
My concern is that he has a heart pacemaker so when the infection takes over and he “dies”, when his heart stops will the pacemaker kick in and restart it? How many times is this likely to happen, does anybody know or can give me an idea of what is likely, please?

Izzy

Volunteer Moderator
Aug 31, 2003
Dundee
I’m sorry I have no experience of this but I just wanted to say that I’m sorry your friend is now at the end of life stage. Wishing you strength.

Grannie G

Volunteer Moderator
Apr 3, 2006
Kent
I`m sorry to hear your friend is now at the end stage of his life @Banjomansmate

I`m glad you have found information about pacemakers to put your mind at rest. Banjoman has been lucky to have you.

LynneMcV

Volunteer Moderator
May 9, 2012
south-east London
I am also sorry to hear your latest news @Banjomansmate, but I m glad your mind is now at rest re. the pacemaker.

Thank you for posting what you have found out. I have learnt something as a result - and I am sure it will help many who face similar situations.

Thinking of you both x

Banjomansmate

Jan 13, 2019
Dorset
Thanks Sylvia and Lynne, just a waiting game now.
Some of his family spent time with him yesterday and told me he was “comfortable “ last night. More will be going today, some of them coming out of the woodwork!
i have pointed out that he is unlikely to recognise or acknowledge them and I know he would hate it for certain people to see him in the state he is in but I cannot stop them from turning up!

Lawson58

Aug 1, 2014
Victoria, Australia