Out of sorts!!!!

outofsorts

Aug 27, 2013
I am new to this - my mom has Alzheimer's and at times is just awful to deal with. My dad is with her 24 hours/day and is not in the best of health - so it's extremely stressful on him (which worries me as well). She is accusing my niece of stealing a doll out of her house - which none of us believe has happened. Previously is was paper dolls (which seem to have appeared) - now it's a Barbie doll. She yells and gets hysterical because she says we are calling her a liar and putting up with a thief. I want to be able to find this doll (however, there are several - so how she knows the difference is beyond me)....but I'd like to prove to her that it didn't happen. It's awful and we are at our witts end. Any advice???? I know things will only get worse - I honestly don't know how I can deal with this. No matter what we say or do only seems to make things worse. HELP!

PeggySmith

Apr 16, 2012
BANES
Hi and welcome to talking point, you'll get lots of good advice here. As far as your mum's concerned though, don't argue with her. She believes what she's saying and contradicting her will only make her more confused which, in turn, makes her frightened, frustrated and angry.

Here's a link to a thread on compassionate communication which has helped a lot of us deal with what's happening.
http://forum.alzheimers.org.uk/showthread.php?30801-Compassionate-Communication-with-the-Memory-Impaired

Good luck with it all and keep posting, it really helps.:)

FifiMo

Feb 10, 2010
Wiltshire