Numb

mumofthree

Apr 11, 2011
Lancashire
Hi
I have been posting on the other board for a few months.
My Dad died in the early hours of this morning. He was diagnosed with Alzheimers in April. He deteriorated quickly and needed 24 hour care by June.
He developed a urine infection, having become incontinent very quickly too, which turned to Sepsis last Sunday. IV access failed and treatment stopped, with end of life care beginning on Monday and a return to his care home and his dog. He has been peaceful and pain-free all week, with his level of consciousness and responsiveness fading.

At the moment I feel a sense of relief and exhaustion, coupled with an emptiness, a numbness. Despite the tears I've shed over the last few weeks and months, I haven't really cried yet today. My Mum died in 2009 and it was very different (different illness, in hospital 10 days but only found out it was terminal less than 24 hours before she died) so my feelings today are unsettling me and I don't know what to expect next.

mumofthree
x

nicoise

Jun 29, 2010
Hello Mumofthree,

Firstly, I'm so sorry about your Dad's story, but I'm glad he was kept painfree and peaceful, and able to be in the right place at the end.

What a dreadful time you've had recently - I'm not surprised you are numb right now. You've been through so much in such a short time, and it really is impossible to get your head around at present.

I wonder too sometimes, having been through something fairly similar recently, and having lost my dad some years ago and now mum, whether having been through the first loss and then the second of your parent that you are a little more experienced at bereavement? You sort of know how you're going to feel, a little more prepared for what is to come, and that although it is terrible you know you will get through it - even with a broken heart?