New to caring

Clareph

May 31, 2024
This is my first time on the forum. My husband and I help with the care of his parents,both diagnosed with Alzehimers and dementia. They have deteriorated significantly this year but are both still at home. We have carers coming in most days to help with morning meds and also cooking lunch as Mum is no longer safe to do this. She also has limited movement due to arthritis. Today they have started taking about wanting to go on a cruise again. This is something they used to do regularly. Is there any advice on this as we are worried about the level of care they would need and if it is possible to get insurances etc. Mum can be very verbally aggressive and intolerant and Dad gets confused on occasions. Is taking them to such an unfamiliar environment recommended? We are concerned that if things do not go as they think, they will not be able to 'get off' and thus could result in meltdowns and other behaviors. We are relatively new to this situation as they were only diagnosed mid last year and the decline has only really happened in the last 6-8 months. Would welcome any thoughts.

Gosling

Volunteer Host
Aug 2, 2022
South West UK
Hello @Clareph and firstly welcome to this friendly and supportive forum. There is a wealth of shared experience of dementia here so I am glad you have found us.

I am sorry to read about your in laws, and both of their deteriorations over recent months.
As to your questions about them possibly wanting to go on a cruise, I would strongly recommend that you try and squash this idea. People with dementia do not do well in unfamiliar surroundings, and as their behaviours, verbal aggression, confusion, and intolerance is evident now - what on earth would they be like cooped up on a cruise? I would strongly suggest this is a non-starter. Sorry if that's not the answer you were hoping for. Others will probably be along shortly with their thoughts.

Ellie2018

Jun 26, 2023