Mystery pain...any ideas? (102 yr old)

avocadofruit

Apr 20, 2016
ahhh, help! It's 8am here and for the last hour my gramma has been repeating "it...hurts..." over and over again.

I'm not a doctor and have no way to assess her...anyone have any ideas of what to look for?

She just got back from hospital last night & we really needed more help then...
I tried to feed her Ensure, with a straw, she was laying on her side with her head propped up a bit. Do you think a little could have gone into the lungs and hurt her somehow? I really have no idea...it didn't seem that way, but I'm just searching for ideas here!

Ahh. Really need an on-call doctor to ask these questions to, this really sucks.

(thanks for listening...)

Sue J

Dec 9, 2009
I tried to feed her Ensure, with a straw, she was laying on her side with her head propped up a bit. Do you think a little could have gone into the lungs and hurt her somehow?

If she had taken some into her lungs she would be coughing and struggling to breathe. It may simply be the position she is lying in but if it doesn't resolve then give the Dr a call.

I hope it does resolve and she is comfortable again soon.

Best wishes
Sue:)

Shedrech

Dec 15, 2012
UK
hi avocadofruit
is she able to touch where it hurts to show you?
is she just saying this or moaning or shouting or screaming, could be an indicator of how much 'hurt' there is - though with dad I get a major drama just cos a nail has scraped his skin when I'm undoing a shirt button, all is exaggerated
do you think the length of time is an indicator that something is wrong - or does she sometimes repeat as a habit?
when dad says something hurts I gently stroke each arm, leg ... and watch his face, if he winces there is something to go on, if he pulls away there's definitely something
sometimes it's suggested to try 2 paracetomol, if meds don't preclude this