Mum in a care home and tested positive for covid19

Julid001

Sep 30, 2017
Hi, mum has dementia and has now been in a care home for 18 months. She has moderate dementia with memory loss. She knows who we all are, but gets very muddled. My problem is that over a week ago, the home swabbed the residents, a number of them tested positive, so they've all had to stay in their rooms. Mum has had no symptoms since being tested positive. We're now on day 10 of room isolation and mum's mental capacity is steadily deteriorating. I'm more worried about that tbh, rather than her physical health, which is fine. What are other care homes doing with regards to the length of time residents have to isolate for. The government guidelines say 7 days if no symptoms, they want mum and the others to isolate for 14. This is starting to have a huge impact on mum. I'm a registered nurse myself working in the NHS, so I'm fully aware of the guidelines for everyone else, just not the care homes. Thankyou for reading.

Jale

Jul 9, 2018
Mum tested positive once with symptoms, then about 10 days ago she was tested along with everyone else and she tested positive again but no symptoms. I was told that she would be isolated and then retested after 14 days. Hope this helps

Julid001

Sep 30, 2017
Mum tested positive once with symptoms, then about 10 days ago she was tested along with everyone else and she tested positive again but no symptoms. I was told that she would be isolated and then retested after 14 days. Hope this helps