Last stages How do I cope ?

cardsculpture

Aug 17, 2013
liverpool
I don't really know where to start because I've never done this before but I really need to talk to people who know what I'm going through, I feel as if no-one else can understand me so I was so glad when I found this forum.
My Dad who is 85 now started with dementia 6 years ago after his first stroke.My young sister had died and I think it was the shock.:(:mad: It was xmas eve and the family were called to hospital as the doctors said he would'nt last through the night, well he did and eventually came home but he was'nt the man he was before. He had a second stroke after Mum died and his 3rd after my brother died 2 years ago. none of his strokes caused any physical side affects but certainly did cause his dementia. eventually I had to put Dad in a nursing home for his own safety but even though I knew I had no choice I have always felt guilty about it.
Dad had to be moved to a special care home because his dementia was so severe and a normal care home could'nt cope with him. Dad is constantly tormented with his dementia because he can't sit still and as soon as he sits he has to get up again, all he says is ( help me ) and he cries constantly. He is no longer able to have a conversation, he's lost 4 stone and won't eat. It breaks my heart to see my big strong Dad like this and I ask God to put him out of his misery . I spoke to Dads doctor and he said Dad is coming to the end of his dementia but I don't really know what that means, what happens next ! is my Dad getting ready to die ! why can't they tell me what to expect next because if my Dad is going to leave me I want to spend as much time with him as I can, Dad is all I have left of my family. is there anyone out there who can tell me exactly what the doctors mean, if there is then can you help me !
Thank you for taking the time to read my rambling.

jeany123

Mar 24, 2012
Durham