Is this willl valid?

Whodathought

Nov 6, 2013
Wits' End
Hi, my Father has recently gone into a care home & I have just applied for deputyship.
While going through his paperwork I found what appears to be a DIY will that he drew up in 1995, it was signed by 2 witnesses & all appears in order.
I have since found a letter from a bank saying that they witnessed his will being signed in 2012, this must be a replacement will but unfortunately I cannot find it. The bank don't keep it. Searches have been done by the Law Society and no solicitor in the area has it.

Question:- In the absence of the 2012 replacement, is the 1995 will that I found valid?

Canadian Joanne

Apr 8, 2005
Toronto, Canada
I'm not a lawyer but I would think that the bank saying they witnessed a 2012 will would render the 1995 one invalid.

I recommend you contact a lawyer as I'm sure this situation has come up before.

jenniferpa

Jun 27, 2006
I would agree with Joanne. Even if you can't find the second will, if there is evidence of it being created the 1995 would not be valid, as part of making a new will is revoking all previous wills. Even if your father tore up the new will, the old will still remains invalid.

Whodathought

Nov 6, 2013
Wits' End
I would agree with Joanne. Even if you can't find the second will, if there is evidence of it being created the 1995 would not be valid, as part of making a new will is revoking all previous wills. Even if your father tore up the new will, the old will still remains invalid.

That's confirmed what I had thought. Thanks for your reply.

Delphie

Dec 14, 2011
I suspect that the issue of capacity needs to be considered. He's gone into residential care, you're applying for a deputyship which suggest loss of capacity and yet there is a new will somewhere that was made last year.

If it does turn up, fingers crossed there aren't any surprises.

sue38

Mar 6, 2007
Wigan, Lancs