Is it Dementa? At a loss with it all.

Gingertwist

Aug 8, 2014
Hi all, I am very new to this, and have recently been reading as much as I can about dementia and its forms as my Mum has been showing signs of severe memory loss and confusion. Although her GP gave her the mandatory clock test etc and admitted that her memory is dire has not made a diagnosis. Recently my Mum has been 'locked in' to the death of a close family member, her guardian. He died about 40 years ago. She has been to his house and cleaned it and now wants to plan a funeral. The house was in fact demolished at least 30 years ago. I have tried the straight talking only to be shot down in nasty flames and accused of trying to make out she has a memory problem. I have tried going with the flow as her GP suggests but now she is planning to a trip of see how much a funeral costs. I have now had to tell tales in that the hospital will sort the paperwork and that he probably had a funeral plan and its all paid for. I hate lying. I have asked her to do the maths in that the years dont add up but she is adamant that this death is recent. Im not sure what to do next. The GP is due to visit next week but I dont hold out much hope as my mum has turned down going to the Memory clinic a 'she has nothing wrong' with her. I have also had stories of things going missing, neighbours, and family members visiting and taking things, and other strange tales. I would appreciate any ideas you may have. Thanks

Last edited:

Jessbow

Mar 1, 2013
Midlands
At times we have to use what are often called 'love lies'

When a person with dementia has an idea, they are always right, they are right you are wrong! Love lies can pacify.

My mother often used to ask if my father had left her for another woman.
Truth = he died ( Why upset her again?)
Love lie = I don't think so ( which is true) but i'll try and find out = pacified for now

susy

Jul 29, 2013
North East