IF I have dementia..?

Jaed

May 6, 2017
Hello

I've finally plucked up the nerve to write this. I've been wondering for a couple of years now if I have very early signs that I'll have dementia. It began with little things that can be dismissed as 'we all do that when we're tired, stressed etc. But now it's bit more- I struggle to remember words I need (I'm an English teacher), I can't add and subtract numbers easily and if there are two parts to solving a maths problem, I keep forgetting which part I'm doing and why... then I have to stop and think about what I'm trying to do and start again. (All this is using paper and pen because I can't hold it in my head).

I'm not stressed or tired and I'm now living with my mum, caring for her because she has dementia. I did a short course for dementia carers and listened to some people who seemed just like me but said they had dementia. Then one of the ladies mentioned that it's common to veer off to the side while walking. I was a bit shocked because I'd just been telling a friend that I do that.

I've stopped telling people I think I may develop dementia because they just tell me not to be daft. I don't know if I have it or not but my question is, since there isn't any cure, is there any point at this stage asking for a test? I want to go back to work one day and don't want to tell an employer I've been diagnosed with mild dementia.

Thank you for reading...

cragmaid

Oct 18, 2010
North East England
If you are really concerned, visit your GP and tell them your concerns. Have Blood tests and memory tests, MRI and ECG.
Many illnesses can produce the same syptoms, eg Vitamin B12 deficiency, or Thyroid Deficency..... both of which are treatable.

Go and find out. Then you can decide where you go from there......

Good Luck.

LadyA

Oct 19, 2009
Ireland