Hope this is correct

Sandie45

Aug 15, 2013
Christchurch, Dorset
Hello my name is Sandie and I am new to this....my husband has been diagnosed with Alzheimer's, he has just finished his 3 month trial with Aricpet which has not been without problems. At this moment in time my husband and I are really struggling with everything that comes with Alzheimer's and wondered if by joining the forum I would find something's that would help me through this difficult time. I have attended a 10week support group which I found out I am not the norm. I am 45 and my husband is older although still considered young for this illness.

My husband is considering stopping his medication as he feels this is a prison sentence for both of us....at the moment we are both finding it really difficult to find any positives, so really sorry if I sound negative. My husband also has very bad depression which I know can come hand in hand.....

Jan 3, 2013
Sidcup
Welcome Sandie45 to TP. I am sorry to hear about your husband. You will find this forum helpful, supportive and lots of information. I look after my MIL who lives with us but others will come on here soon who look after their husbands

Look forward to your posts x

rajahh

Aug 29, 2008
Hertfordshire
Hi and welcome. I care for my husband who has AD plus prostate cancer. My husband refused Aricept, and I agreed with him.

When he was offered it it was at a time when he was very agitated, and weepy. and he was told Aricept would slow the disease down so he would remain as he was for longer without getting worse.

He hated being in the weepy stage and so did I so we decided that it was better to just let mature take its course and the sooner he passed through that stage the better. He did become quite contented for a long time, and although it is hard on the carer as they " lose" their partner, it seems to be kinder to the patient. Or our own personal case it did.