Helping loved one with a bereavement

Greysky

May 15, 2013
Hi
This is my first time on a forum but I wonder if anyone could help. My mother has vascular dementia and my father died 3 months ago. She is aware he died but has no memory of how and when he died and her memories of him are fading which distresses her. I let her know her feelings are very strong and that shows how much she loved him. I have knowledge of the grief process but don 't know how similar or different the experiences are for people with dementia.
I would be grateful to hear people's experiences and any suggested reading material.
Thank you.

jeany123

Mar 24, 2012
Durham
Hello and welcome to Talking Point I am sorry i have no answers for you but I am sure someone will be along soon who has experience of this,

Best wishes Jeany

Jeanie12

May 15, 2013
Snap!

This is also my first time and I have the same problem with my lovely Dad. Mum passed away 6 months ago and he keeps calling at all hours asking where she is and when she is coming home. We keep telling him she is in heaven and he seems to understand for a short time and then asks again. He then thinks she has only just died and wants to close his curtains and even got his black tie out to wear.It's hearbreaking to see him go through his grief over and over again.
Would it be cruel to put a note by his telephone to remind him that Mum is in heaven?

Witzend

Aug 29, 2007
SW London
This is also my first time and I have the same problem with my lovely Dad. Mum passed away 6 months ago and he keeps calling at all hours asking where she is and when she is coming home. We keep telling him she is in heaven and he seems to understand for a short time and then asks again. He then thinks she has only just died and wants to close his curtains and even got his black tie out to wear.It's hearbreaking to see him go through his grief over and over again.
Would it be cruel to put a note by his telephone to remind him that Mum is in heaven?