Help with incontinence supplies

helenjones

Apr 2, 2016
Hi all
Im new to this but mum was diagnosed with alzheimers/vascular dementia just over a year ago. She has been in a care home for 12 months now and they have more or less always put incontinence pants on her as she been urinarally(sorry if wrong word) incontinent pretty much since diagnosis. The home have always provided these pants and never asked us to buy them. We had a few concerns with the home and they didn't like us complaining. Shortly after this they rang us at 8.30am to advise us that she was now doubly incontinent and could we provide incontinence pads for her immediately as the home had none!!!
They told us they are going to get an assessment done but I'm struggling to see why the home have made this request. Is it because they are being awkward or should we provide them?

Many thanks

nitram

Apr 6, 2011
Bury
Normally the pads are provided FOC directly to the home by the local continence service.

This requires an assessment, contact the service to ask about assessment and whether they require a GP referral, they may be very slow reacting.

In some areas the quantity of pads is insufficient and more have to be provided.

fizzie

Jul 20, 2011
I am horrified that a home is asking for families to buy pads. One of the reasons many people are in ahome is because families cannot cope with incontinence and as far as I know it has always been part of the package. The NHS continence nurses are the people you need to contact. Look up continence service on the Trust website and give them a ring. Ask them if they will do an assessment and if it could be done quickly as mum is doubly incontinent and the care home require you to buy pads - I think they will also be horrified but see how the conversation goes and let us know. I would wonder about a care home that asked families for such a basic need for their relatives

fizzie

Jul 20, 2011