Feeling very low!

Crashbabe

Aug 15, 2013
Billingham
Hi, I'm new to TP. My hubby is in the early stages of dementia and is only 66, I am a bit younger than him. He seems to have accepted his diagnosis quite easily - he has always been a very easy going and laid-back person. I am finding it quite a struggle at the moment as I feel I have become "the husband" as well as the wife, and at times now feel more like "his mother"! Mainly because he has lost confidence in himself and can no longer do jobs around the house, but then just leaves it to me to sort out - either by doing it myself or getting someone in. I want him to be angry and fight a bit - not with me but with the illness! But instead I fill my days reminding him to do the things he needs to do and repeating myself. Usually I have ups and downs but at the moment I have been on a down for around 3/4 weeks! I am so miserable. What should have been a lovely retirement for us both has been snatched away for me to be left watching the man I love fade away! Sorry to go on so much!

lilysmybabypup

May 21, 2012
Sydney, Australia
Don't apologise, everything you're saying and feeling is valid. A diagnosis like this is the start of grief, and grief is an exhausting emotion. You're feeling all the losses as well as absorbing the roles you must adopt. I have no words of wisdom or sage advice, but I hope you feel better having shared, and you're always welcome to share, it really helps.
The one grace here is that this condition offers some protection for the sufferer, a childlike grasp of the situation, and altered reality can be a coping mechanism.
Be kind to yourself and take one day at a time, it really is hard.
Stephanie, xxx

Love&Light

Jul 22, 2013
Good Morning