"End of life box" your help requested please....

Bristolbelle

Aug 18, 2006
Bristol
As many of you know I work as an activity co-ordinator in a care home. I have been asked to put together some kind of box or kit to try and offer comfort etc to the person and thier families as the end of life approaches. Things that have been suggested are CD's of spiritual and classical music and relaxation. A choice of special fleeces which look nicer than the standard blankets in use, books with nice passages in to read or find comfort from, tissues, if appropriate a Bible or other religious book/ items, lavender oil, hand creams and soft towels so hand massage can be given, mood lights.
Please can you tell me what you feel would be useful, comforting etc. I want to get this right as I will be offering this to people at a time which is very difficult for them. If you do not feel you would appreciate anything like this at all let me know - all you opinions would be very welcome. Many thanks :)

2jays

Jun 4, 2010
West Midlands
What a lovely idea

What a sad idea

A box

In my opinion

You will never have a box of things that will help

Surely when supporting someone when they are dying or for those who are "left behind" a box of things to support them is impersonal?

Utmost respect to you as you try to help people at this difficult time

But

Why do we need another box

Where has compassion, vulnerability of proffessionals gone? Why do you need a box of stuff?

Canadian Joanne

Apr 8, 2005
Toronto, Canada
My husband stayed overnight in the nursing home when his mother was dying and they had a whole very large kit put together. There was also a big reclining chair for him to sleep in, nice blankets, a lot of different things. I think there were also packaged snacks and bottled water. The things were geared more towards helping the family members but he found it very useful and thoughtful.