Drowning in leaflets already!

Nickinotnikki

Jun 30, 2019
Hello, newbie here. Just introducing myself and my situation (sorry for the length).

Mum (80s) just diagnosed with vascular dementia though I suspect it’s been developing for several years since a cardiac arrest a few years back. She’s fiercely independent, lives alone. I live 100+ miles away and my sister lives abroad.

Am hoping this website will help me retain my own sanity as I’m not doing so well at the mo. She’s gotten much worse since Christmas (lots of TIAs perhaps). Incontinence, forgets how to walk sometimes, not eating, not taking pills, vagueness etc etc.

Just arranging home help (AgeUK) 3xweek but suspect we’ll soon have to book daily care visits and eventually find a care home. So bloody difficult. And self funded. We have attendance allowance at least.

So many decisions ... and all I want to do is run away, if I’m honest.

And I’m surprised how, once we got the diagnosis, we appear to have been left on our own except for one social worker visit which has produced nothing concrete. Seems you have to fight for everything but I don’t have the strength!!

I am drowning in leaflets (as per the subject heading) but what I really need is practical advice. So here’s hoping I can find what I need here, scouring the threads!

canary

Feb 25, 2014
South coast
Hello @Nickinotnikki and welcome to DTP.

Yes, I remember coming out of the memory clinic with mum and a fist full of leaflets. Then nothing more.
Im afraid that there is very little help for people with dementia and their carers, but fortunately DTP is a gold mine of information and support.

Im glad you have got Attendance Allowance; have you also got POA. If not, get it done PDQ before it is too late!
You can also claim Council Tax disregard due to "severe Mental Impairment" (lovely wording hey? :rolleyes: )

If you have got any specific questions do ask - Im sure someone will know the answer.

Sirena

Feb 27, 2018