Driving

Galloping grannie

Feb 24, 2022
My OH has recently given up driving. We haven’t had a conversation about it, I just always get in the driving seat and he hasn’t complained. The only problem is, he tells me what every car around is about to do, which way we need to turn, when I can fit through a gap etc. I have been coming out of my drive for 52 years, but he tells me how much space I have from the wall. It can be helpful at times, but the rest of the time it is very wearing and stressful. I’m trying to be positive and think he is at least getting some mental exercise.

Sue741215

Oct 18, 2019
Welcome to my world @Galloping grannie. My oh runs through the traffic light changes ie they'll come from the left and then the right and then it is our turn. He also counts lorries, vans or vws out loud. You will get used to it - no choice but to relax into it. I say this after in the past occasionally screaming at him and threatening to drop him off if he doesn't stop till I realised it made not the slightest difference - he would just count quietly for a few minutes then start doing it out loud again. Also it has replaced what he used to do which is point out the speed limit every traffic camera or worse sign denoting a camera and there are even more of those than lorries. Like you I try to be positive and think it gives him something to do on long journeys and exercises his brain. The sad thing is that he used to be excellent at knowing where we were but now he is so busy counting lorries he does not take notice of anything else and is losing that ability. The upside is I do listen to the radio now on long journeys - I didn't like to before when he was talking to me but now it is counting I feel it is ok.

leny connery

Nov 13, 2022