Deterioration query

Glofaxi

Nov 5, 2017
East Yorkshire
Hello. I’m a newbie to this site.
My mum is 93. Diagnosed with alz 3 1/2 yrs ago.
She lives at home with me and my Husband and two daughters who are at university. I have a care package of three hours a day weekdays and the carers just sit with her or take her to the library etc. She walks with a stick or rollator. Can manage to shower but can’t do much else.
She’s been getting on quite well with lots of support.
However the last two weeks have seen some noticeable changes. She’s very confused about her tv and programmes and remote. Thinks she can point to the paper to change channels. Can’t understand why a programme won’t play even if it’s a different day or time. And so on.
I got bloods done to check for infections but all ok. But there’s a definite change. Is this why:
My daughter was recently admitted as an emergency to hospital. She was very poorly but out now and recovering. My mother, who is a classic passive aggressive, immediately began to say she didn’t feel well either etc. She was attention seeking to the extreme. Went off her food. As if I
wasn’t worrying enough about my daughter.
The thing is, mum has definitely changed since the shock of it. Our dr said it can’t be the alz as it’s a steady decline and people don’t get worse in sudden steps like this.
What do people think? She’s 93 as I say. Lived with me for 28 years.

Sam Luvit

Oct 19, 2016
East Sussex
I don’t know why a doctor would say Alzheimer’s is a steady decline, it isn’t.

Mum stayed very much the same for about a year, then had a massive dip across the board, memory, mobility, getting out of a chair, temper, so many different things, I was told it was “just the Alzheimer’s” progression.