Circle of sadness for my dear Mum

Twiglet63

This is my first time asking, I use TP for answers to 'standard' questions, I hope the forum can help guide me on the best way to manage an upsetting circle of events.

I care for my mother who was diagnosed with Vascular Dementia and Alzheimer's in 2012. I have fulfilled the Alzheimer's Society local training course which was invaluable in terms of understanding how best to care for someone with Dementia.

On Friday last week a very dear friend of Mum's died in quite tragic circumstances. My Mum was with me when we received the call, so I explained as much as I knew which she seemed to understand whilst obviously being upset.

Fast forward to one day later, we bumped into someone who had heard the news too. He said to both of us "Have you heard the tragic news about Guy? Oh how horrible for the family etc etc". This seemed to send Mum into a 'spin' as I call it, her immediate response was "no one told me, I didn't know" as she couldn't recall our conversation.

The crux of my 'hindsight' question is....should I take it on the chin (as recommended in the training) in a 'Oh Mum, I am sorry that's my fault, I meant to tell you that Guy had died" or do I say "We talked about this on Friday, we said that we would go to his funeral" to try and encourage the memory and desperately trying not to use the words "don't you remember", because clearly she can't!!!

I don't know what to do for the best. Its perpetual sadness for her.

Any tips or hints gratefully received.

Katie

Beate

I would say, "sorry I forgot to mention it", then never mention it again and warn others not to either, as she is clearly not able to remember anymore, and it would be cruel to give her grief each time someone mentions it again. I'm not sure attending the funeral is a great idea either, btw.

sunray