can blood pressure meds be taken in the evening?

stillcaring

Sep 4, 2011
My mum has just been diagnosed with high blood pressure and it looks like she is going to have to have medication for it. The doctor I saw last week said to try to get her to eat garlic or grapefruit but I have failed totally to persuade her. The problem is that she is unlikely to be able to remember to take medication regularly and though I suppose if she forgets to take it it's no worse than not having it, I'm worried she will remember to take it, forget she has, take it again and so on and end up giving herself an overdose. Friends say you can get boxes with compartments for each day's pills, but as she is really hazy about which day it is, that isn't likely to help. If it was possible for her to take the medication in the late afternoon or early evening I could go in and supervise her taking it, but I can't go in in the mornings because I'm a teacher. But everyone I've talked to who takes blood pressure medication takes it in the morning. Does anyone know if there is a reason for this, or should I be able to get something she can take early evening? Though having to make her take it is going to be ghastly....

CeliaW

Jan 29, 2009
Hampshire
Hi stillcaring - one of the reasons for taking the blood pressure medication in the morning is because they often have a diuretic effect and so you wont want your Mum needing the loo a couple of hours after taking them if she has gone to bed. There are other reasons but it really depends on the type of medicine prescribed.

You can buy medicine boxes that sound an alarm to remind the person to take the medication and I think the more sophisticated ones repeat the alarm at intervals until the medicine is removed from the box.

One thought is if you put the medicine in an agreed place in a dose box - could you ring her and get her to take it whilst you are on the phone?