Banking for my PWD

sue2108

May 9, 2023
Hello all
I have been managing our finances for many years ( we have always had separate accounts) going from me asking him to sign a cheque back in the day to now me sorting out his bank account online. My question is -do I inform the bank about his condition and the fact I have LPA or should I carry on managing his account online on his phone. What difference would it make? Most of our household bills come out of my account so I transfer regularly from his account to mine to help pay these.

I’ve seen that you have to make an appointment to speak to someone about this but our branch closed down and we were moved to a branch nearly 20 miles away.
Thank you for any advice 🙏

itsorsonkartt

Nov 29, 2023
HI

Im new to this. I took the power of attorney into bank ( Lloyds). Every page of it was faxed through to head office followed by a conversation . It took half an hour or so .Hope this helps?

sapphire turner

Jan 14, 2022
Santander were very helpful and accepted the LPOA online, Lloyds photocopied every page. The Co-op bank was very unhelpful indeed so I got my husband’s account online moved the money out and shut it down. Maybe they might take notice if we vote with our feet! I managed for ages just doing it for him online but if there is a problem and they insist on talking to the account holder it can get sticky.

extoyboy

Oct 2, 2021