Any advice welcome

Gayle175

Mar 18, 2024
Hi,
I am new to this page and hoping for any advice.
My dad has been diagnosed with dementia and Alzheimers.
Recently he has started hiding things in very random places. This is normally keys, phones, remote controls. He has also started ripping pages from books or cutting them with scissors.
Does anyone have any ideas how to manage this? The nurse said to confront him, but this made things worse as then got worried people were coming into the house and stealing things. He also got very cross and upset when we gently suggested it might have been him that misplaced them.
Thank you

Kevinl

Aug 24, 2013
Salford
Hello and welcome
As a former nurse myself (many years ago) wife a nurse and mum too, I think the so called nurse is talking out of her rectum, sorry just my opinion.
Just for reference I've been a member of the site for years, wife and mum had dementia of varying kinds.
K

canary

Feb 25, 2014
South coast
Hi @Gayle175

Im afraid that what you are seeing is absolutely classic dementia.
Your dad is in a loop -

He gets confused and puts things in an unusual place. He then forgets and cannot find them. He is totally unaware that it is he himself that has done this - it is a symptom of dementia that they lose insight and do not believe that they have changed at all. So he is certain that isnt him and someone else has done it. As he cant find the objects he concludes that someone must have come in and stolen them. So he "puts things away safely" in places that the thief wont find. He then forgets and thinks they have been stolen.....

It is almost impossible to get them out of this loop. It took me a while to work out what was happening with mum - I even changed all the locks so that the "thief" couldnt get in, but mum then thought they were getting in through the letter box!!!