Allowances

mary w

Jan 20, 2009
Warwicks
I'm new to all of this. My husband was dignosed with Alzheimers 18 months ago and, until recently I have coped alone 24/7 with no break.
I was told today that, because I have registered the Lasting Power of Attorney I am not eligible for any Direct Payments towards his Day Care.
If I have to totally fund this just to keep my sanity and get a few hours to myself- so be it, but I cannot understand why I am not eligible just because I have done what I was advised to do, so that I have control over my husbands financial affairs:confused:

gigi

Nov 16, 2007
East Midlands
Hello Mary...

I was told today that, because I have registered the Lasting Power of Attorney I am not eligible for any Direct Payments towards his Day Care

First of all ...Welcome to TP....:)

Secondly....Who told you that?.......:eek:

Thirdly....You will have a lot of help and advice here...and it may be that in order to help you we need a bit more information.

Direct Payments/Day Care/Carer's Allowance are seperate entities...and according to where you live the first 2 are not guaranteed.

But whatever your financial circumstances..your husband should be able to claim Attendance Allowance.
And if you are caring 24/7 you should be able to claim Carer's Allowance.

Sorry Ella..to break into your thread...Maybe Mary needs her own..??

Mary..I'm hoping a moderator may intervene here..sounds like you may need your own thread.

Love gigi xx

Grannie G

Volunteer Moderator
Apr 3, 2006
Kent
Hello Mary

I`m surprised like gigi at this information. It seems incorrect to me too. In face I`d go so far as to say you have definitely been misinformed.

I have done what gigi suggested and moved your post to your own Thread where I hope you will get more responses.

jenniferpa

Jun 27, 2006