Advice - mother in law been taken into a care home

Daughterinlaw83

Apr 14, 2024
Hi all this is my first post and I am new to this so please be gentle.... My mother in law was admitted to a care home yesterday and we as a family are all reeling. My father in law has been her main carer since her diagnosis around 2 years ago. He was recently taken into hospital and has been unable to provide the 24 hour care that he has been for my mother in law. This has meant as a family we have had to provide 24 hour care for the last month. This has involved sleeping over at the flat where my MIL was living, providing all care needs and taking her to and from the hospital daily to visit my FIL as well as dealing with memory loss, she has forgotten my husband on many occasions. She has become aggressive at times and abusive towards some family members.
This has taken a huge toll mentally on all of us, especially my husband and his brothers.
Things came to a head over the weekend and it was deemed my MIL was unsafe to be left alone anymore and was admitted to a local care home. The first attempt to get her in failed and she spent her last night at her flat on Friday evening. Saturday morning came and we were told by social services she had to go to the home that day and the staff would help to admit her. This went fairly smoothly and a couple of family members were able to get her to agree to go in and we're able to leave without her. She has called numerous people since being admitted, screaming blue murder and telling people she has been kidnapped. She is clearly very distressed which I completely understand.