11 years of stress

sunflower123

Hello, this is my first time on here. My father has had Alzheimers for 11 years. My Mother was his main carer even though she had a couple of days respite from 9-3 it was not enough for her to try and relax. She was caring 24 hours a day and was exhousted and died suddenly a week after my dad went into a residential home. He was kicked out of the care home because of his aggression just over 3 years ago and has since been in a nursing home. There is nothing there except his shell anymore. He is on liquidised food and thickened liquids to which is a struggle for him. He aspirated a couple of weeks ago and rushe into Hospital with aspirated pneumonia but has now nearly made a full recovery (well sort of). He is due to go back to the nursing home this evening who left him to get very dehyut they do!drated and I am worried that we will have to go through exactly the same thing again very soon. It's very hard to watch them suffer and being SO helpless.

Anyone else been or going through the same thing?

when you think things can't get any worse but they deffinately do!!

Shedrech

Hi sunflower123
welcome to TP - there's a wealth of experience here for you to tap into - good listeners and lots to offer sympathy
so sorry to read that you lost your mother and of your father's condition
I hope the care home staff have taken on board that your father needs careful supervision
he's fortunate that he has you to look out for him
I hope you have someone for you too
post here as often as you wish :)
best wishes

Last edited:

sunflower123

Hi sunflower123
welcome to TP - there's a wealth of experience here for you to tap into - good listeners and lots to offer sympathy
so sorry to read that you lost your mother and of your father's condition
I hope the care home staff have taken on board that your father needs careful supervision
he's fortunate that he has you to look out for him
I hope you have someone for you too