Help... My partner has dementia and I just can't cope

fred1

Dec 15, 2012
Hi. I'm new to this... can't you guess! My partner has been recently diagnosed with vascular dementia. He's 56 and has had a stroke. It's been a long journey to get the diagnosis and I'm just starting to get support (but of course not over Christmas). I'm 43 and we have two children. I'm struggling to cope with the behavioural problems of my partner. He is starting to become aggressive, and lives in an emotional bubble. I need help, but the memory clinic is discharging him as the memory side is so minor. I can't cope with the constant low, level abuse. I know it's not him, but it doesn't make it any easier to cope with. Is there anybody else out there in this sort of situation? SK

itsmeagain

Oct 20, 2010
Lots of women on here are taking abuse and even violence from partners who have dementia. Men suffer with violent wives too on here. The good thing is loads of people will support you and just spend time in sympathy with you. A real bonus. :D

TinaT

Sep 27, 2006
Costa Blanca Spain
I would ask for a carer's assessment with your loca social service department. This is done on your behalf not your husband's. Sounds to me as though you need a little breathing space. Coping 24/7 is not easy at the best of times and you are not going through the best of times.

Are there any dementia support groups in your area. I have to warn you that my husband was an 'early onset sufferer' from dementia and I found local groups difficult as we were much younger than the average person there. However they could be the gateway to more specific help for you.

xTinaT

fred1

Dec 15, 2012