Say hello and introduce yourself

Sheila McL

Apr 10, 2024
Greetings, I’m a newbie to this But I’ve been the sole carer for my Mother, who lived with me, for many years. She has now gone into a care home. Strangely enough whilst I’m relieved, the house is so quiet and empty and despite it being a hard last few years I really do miss her especially in the evenings when we would have something to eat and then and have the tv on.

DaveyFrom75

Apr 12, 2024
Hello everyone,

As with all that are on here, each of us has own story to tell.
Mine, that will match with many others tells of the seemingly hereditary nature of this metabolic dysfunction.

My grandma was diagnosed with Alzheimer's early in her 70's which was 20 years ago now.
She passed away around 5 years ago, a mere shadow of who she was.
Now as my mother reaches the same age those symptoms come about in her behaviour, thick and fast.
She lives alone, unfortunately, which, as I understand perpetuates the condition further so her decline seems rapid - can't sit still, pacing, unable to spark conversation, lack of personal hygiene, on occasion moments of physical violence.

The difficult part is being in another country, I moved away as our family relationship was always of a toxic nature, yet seeing someone so in need of help brings me to write this message. I do have a sibling, yet she has 2 disabled kids to care for...

I am at a bit of an impasse as my mother is not the kind of person to accept help. I think she does know she isn't well, but when I've asked her to consult a doctor she takes no action.