The dementia whirlwind

emp

Jun 27, 2018
I've been lurking on this forum for a few years, but this is my first time actually signing up and posting anything. Sorry if this turns into a bit of a rambling post, but feel I need to get some things off my chest with people who understand.

Bit of background information. Both myself and my mum have been carers for my grandparents for a long time. As soon as I learned to drive I was helping out with hospital appointments. Granddad has every health condition under the sun, nan is registered blind due to AMD and is vary hard of hearing. Nan is not diagnosed with dementia, but it's unmistakable and has been going on for about four years now. Recently she had to have a mastectomy so two lots of surgery, her collapsing and being unconscious, and an allergic reaction to the new medication have all contributed to her having a massive deterioration in her dementia. She is now paranoid, thinks people are coming to take her away, is forgetting to eat, keeps saying she wants to die. I've been going down as much as I can since her operation to help out, but in the midst of all this my mum has broken her foot so I've had to go down even more when I'm able. Mum is still trying to help out, but is reliant on my dad to take her down. Nan has been telling the neighbours that mum hasn't broken her foot and is not coming down because she wants to put them into care :(

emp

Jun 27, 2018
Whoops posted before I had finished

Mum asked my invisible aunt for help the other day and was told that this is the role she has chosen for herself so she won't help. Felt like smacking her! It's causing a lot of resentment between my parents who keep fighting. My dad doesn't want to "be around old people" all the time and just wants to enjoy his retirement with his wife, a luxury they have yet to have four years after mum has retired. We are trying to work on getting carers in, but granddad has capacity and is stubborn.