Do I move Mum in with me?

Annie M

Aug 9, 2017
East Grinstead
Hi, I'm new to Talking Point and would appreciate some points of view of other carers.
I'm an only child and live in the UK with my husband; we both work full time. I am self-employed working from home most of the time. My husband will be retiring is a couple of years but I want to keep working as long as I am able. My 88 year old mother was diagnosed three years ago. She lives just half a mile from us. I care for my mother with the help of my husband, my daughter, son and a professional carer who visits Mum twice a week to wash her and give us a day off. At the moment, we are giving Mum about two hours per day to serve a main meal, company and run the house/garden etc.
My question is about the future - isn't it always? We are considering building an extension so that we can have Mum live in an annexe with us and I want to know how possible it would be for us to care for her at home as she completes her dementia journey. I'm given to understand that it is inevitable that she goes into a care home at the end of her life, but would like to hear from families who care for their parent at home - with professional help where necessary - and whether you think it is sensible to try to take this route.
Thank you x :)

cragmaid

Oct 18, 2010
North East England
I can hear the chorus of voices calling " don't do it" from here!!:rolleyes:

Hello Annie and welcome. First of all, I must say that I admire you for even considering having your Mum to live with you. There have been many here for whom this plan worked and, No, it's not inevitable that Mum ends of in a CH but its more likely.