confusion

Kyla392

May 6, 2023
Hi I am totally new to this type of thing and don't know where to start. My mum has Alzheimer's and currently lives with my dad. My mum has always been very stubborn and has always been a fighter when it comes to her health and wellbeing. She was diagnosed about 2 years ago, we knew as a family for sometime before but she refused to go to the Dr and said we were ganging up on her. I think because she refuses to accept her diagnosis she seems to have deteriorated rapidly, does this happen quickly? My mum is currently experiencing incontinence issues, she doesn't always recognize my voice on the phone, she makes telephone calls saying there's a strange man in the house who she is scared of and wants to call the police (my dad) she swears so much which is very new to her. My dad isnt well he has a heart condition and his BP is very high, she can be very aggressive towards him sometimes. She appears to be reliving things that happened in the past telling me she is living in her childhood home, she cries alot which is quite distressing too. We organised a voluntary house sitter but she refused it, Ive got her going to a singing group for people with dementia she loves it. We have sorted LPA's for health and money just incase. It is sad but I don't have a very good relationship with my mum she was a great grandma and she gets on very well with my brother, I think maybe I was more challenging as a teenager, my husband and children have all noticed how differently she treats me and now its heightened with the dementia I live 3 plus hours away and try to get up once a month to see them but most of the time it turns into a very stressful place, I call her every day and she is usually happy to hear my voice. I feel very guilty i cant do more to help my brother who lives nearby he doesn't moan at me and deals with stuff daily mum only trusts him she refuses to tell me anything, I feel guilty because I feel i don't particularly like my mum anymore