What next?

mrscook1986

Jan 10, 2024
Hi all. Newbie here.
My mum is 68 and diagnosed with Alzheimer's dementia a week ago. She lives on her own in her bungalow thats mortgage free and currently still able to live independently with a few reminders here and there.
My main question is what do i need to do next? Ive informed DVLA as per the consultants request and applied for her attendance allowance but do i need to inform DWP, life insurance, car insurance, banks, utilities etc? Do these stay in her name?
Myself and my sister have LPA already from 2019 and have requested the activation key but what exactly do i need to do with it?!! Im totally lost.

Violet Jane

Aug 23, 2021
You need to inform the car insurers of the diagnosis. I don't know about informing anyone else.

Has your mother made a will? If not, then now is the time to do it.

People with dementia can be eligible for a Council Tax discount. Each local authority has slightly different rules. Some people are entitled to Pension Credit. A CAB or money advice centre would be able to check what your mother is entitled to.

I'm not sure what an activation key is. Normally, you produce the POA for property and financial affairs to the bank in order to be able to operate the account. They then produce new cards in the name(s) of the attorney(s). Some financial POAs allow the attorneys to act before the donor has lost legal capacity but others only allow the attorneys to act once capacity has been lost. I recollect that the gov.uk website has a useful section on powers of attorney. If your mother isn't at risk of being defrauded and can still manage her money and most things are paid by direct debit or standing order you could just help her with her finances if she's amenable.

If your mother struggles with taking medication then she can get a Dossett box through the GP.

SAP

Feb 18, 2017
The following info should be useful.