palliative care for my dad

Just Jane

Jun 29, 2020
Hi everyone,

not posted on here for a while, my dad been in and out of hospital 5 times this year for different health conditions and now he as liver disease.

my dad had lewy body dementia and Parkinson's my dad got told he had this in the first wave of lockdown, and how in 2021 we are going to be having a palliative care nurse come and talk to us tomorrow, my dad gone down hill fast he is spending alot time in bed.

The Parkinson's meds are not working on him as it brings out his mental health side. I can't get my head round how my dad has gone from being confused and upset last year to not able to understand the people around him and being in bed most of the day sleeping and also rambling at night, how progressive is Lewy body dementia?

Izzy

Volunteer Moderator
Aug 31, 2003
Dundee
I’m so sorry to read about your dad @Just Jane. I’ve no personal experience of Lewy Body Dementia but I wondered if this factsheet would be of any help -

canary

Feb 25, 2014
South coast
Hi @Just Jane