My mum has Demattia

danonumberone

Feb 5, 2018
England
Hi just i would just like to know if my mum has three Daughters and one son just found out that one of them has power of Attorney how did this happened with out telling the others and does this mean i could challenge it . What is the power of Attorney rights have i am more then confessed now as they went behind all of our backs to do the power of Attorney are they now in charge of everything

Amethyst59

Jul 3, 2017
Kent
Hi just i would just like to know if my mum has three Daughters and one son just found out that one of them has power of Attorney how did this happened with out telling the others and does this mean i could challenge it . What is the power of Attorney rights have i am more then confessed now as they went behind all of our backs to do the power of Attorney are they now in charge of everything
Hello! Welcome to Talking Point. I am no legal expert, but I believe that when drawing up an LPA (lasting power of attorney) there is no obligation to inform the family members who are not named. I don’t believe that these are grounds for challenging the decision.
An attorney is the representative of the donor (that is the person with dementia). If the donor can make decisions for his or her self, then they continue to do so. When they cannot make decisions the attorney acts on their behalf. Everything decided has to be in the best interests of the donor. If anyone is unhappy with decisions made by an attorney, or feels they have not acted in the best interest of the donor, then they can appeal to the OPG ...which is an organisation that exists to make sure the donor’s best interests are kept.
I am sure someone else will answer soon who has greater knowledge than me, and/or who can explain more clearly!

Beate

May 21, 2014
London