Mums accusations to my brother...

O&L

Mar 3, 2020
Hi all...I’m new to this today and just looking for some advise & support really. My Mum has been accusing my brother of stealing for the past year & it’s got progressively worse to the point where he has recently stopped going in to try and break the cycle. In his absence she still calls him accusing him and asking him to return things and on a daily basis I go to see her and she tells me what he’s taken she’s so angry and upset with him and about it that it heart breaking. He is desperately upset being away from her. How should we handle this and should my brother try and see her again? Any advise would be a so appreciated

Grannie G

Volunteer Moderator
Apr 3, 2006
Kent
Hello @O&L Welcome to Dementia Talking Point.

I feel for your brother. Somehow there is always one in the family who seems to be on the receiving end of false accusations caused by paranoia.

Do you think it would help if you ask your mother to list the items she believes your brother has taken. If she can and you can go to look for them, perhaps she`ll believe you if you tell her none of those items are with him.

These missing items must be somewhere. Another way may be to see if your mother has hidden them in `safe` places once you know what to look for.

Woo2

Apr 30, 2019
South East
Hi welcome @O&L from me , I’m sorry you have the need to find this forum but it’s great and there is so much advice, help and support here. That’s sad but not uncommon about mum, I don’t have much experience but I’m sure someone will be along soon with some good advice.

Pete1

Jul 16, 2019