I'm New to this & I think my Mum has got dementia - advice very welcome please

Moulin1

Aug 26, 2013
Hello

I have thought my Mum has been showing the signs of dementia for a while now. She had a memory test a few months ago & scored 29 out of 30. She put on a really good show for the doctor who visited & took the test with her. I ended up feeling like the worst daughter ever! My cousin (who takes my Mum & Aunties out every fortnight) got in touch with me to voice her concerns about my Mum. Her mother-in-law, my Mum's sister has dementia (she is 10 years older than my Mum) & she's quite bad now. My cousin pointed out that my Mum is becoming very similar to her sister. I have taled with my Mum about it, but she is in denial & I think part of that is to do with how scared she is of becoming like her sister. I feel I need to push for my Mum to be referred and have more than the memory test she had. I don't want to upset my Mum & I feel like I'm bullying her, but I feel if she is diagnosed with dementia then maybe she can have help/medication. Sorry for babbling on, but I feel so torn. Should I just rely on that initial memory test - which, pretty much said she's OK? Or should I push for more tests? x

Eleanor09

Jan 17, 2012
Hello,
You are, of course, a wonderful daughter - hence your concern.
I am afraid I don't have any answers for you regarding your Mums memory test results. Perhaps you could be more specific about the concerns. As for most, a general health check and bloods should be carried out first I think, as many conditions that are treatable can produce similar symptoms. Perhaps you could speak to her GP.
I think this site is designed so that we can babble. I did anyway and found it very supportive
Best wishes and good luck

Middle Girl

Aug 22, 2012