Dad wants to go pop

Spottydog

Dec 8, 2023
I've been caring remotely for my dad since my mum died in 2019. He did OK til 2022 and from then on its a been a downward slide. His personal care is great, carers come in twice a day to steady the ship, but he has no short term memory, has become extremely anxious about his house and neighbours. The carers think he can still manage as he presents well to them but they don't see the anxiety that I see or know all the day to day work that I put in to keep him treading water. It's getting harder and harder and my health is suffering too. Tonight, in a moment of lucidity, he says he doesn't want to live like this and just wants to go pop. I'm now terrified he will harm himself. I know a care home will not suit him but I don't feel there is any other option as SS don't fund live in care.

DeeCee7

Oct 13, 2023
Oh dear @Spottydog, I do feel for you in this difficult remote caring role. He probably won’t remember saying this and hopefully will move on from it. Would an increase in carers visits help at all? A care home might actually help with the anxiety as there are staff on hand 24/7 to soothe and allay his fears. Your health is suffering too, and I don’t think this present situation can continue. Sorry, not much help but I just wanted you to know that someone is listening and lending a sympathetic ear.

RM3

Feb 4, 2024