Dad phoning constantly

Angel75

Dec 7, 2017
Hi
Just after some advise as I'm new to this.
My dad has been in a care home since last October.
He's is being tested for dementia as his behaviour is becoming very challenging.
He is getting aggressive, he's very manipulative and paranoid. He wonders around at night and phones me and my sister around 10 times a day but forgets he's phoned.
If we ask him about anything he changes his stories constantly and blames everyone else.
He constantly says he wants to leave the care home he's in.
I love my dad to bits and feel so guilty when I don't answer his calls. But it so draining going over the same things with him.
How's the best way to handle things without upsetting my dad.
I'm at my wits as I work full time and have a husband with mental health issues. Any advise would be great thanks.

pjapril

Oct 22, 2017
Hi
Just after some advise as I'm new to this.
My dad has been in a care home since last October.
He's is being tested for dementia as his behaviour is becoming very challenging.
He is getting aggressive, he's very manipulative and paranoid. He wonders around at night and phones me and my sister around 10 times a day but forgets he's phoned.
If we ask him about anything he changes his stories constantly and blames everyone else.
He constantly says he wants to leave the care home he's in.
I love my dad to bits and feel so guilty when I don't answer his calls. But it so draining going over the same things with him.
How's the best way to handle things without upsetting my dad.
I'm at my wits as I work full time and have a husband with mental health issues. Any advise would be great thanks.