Wife went from fully functioning/no symptoms to full blown dementia in 3-months

OldTiredSailor

Oct 19, 2022
New Here -I am very impressed with the thoughtful replies and valuable information I find here. I understand a fair amount since I did a graduate degree in clinical psychology and then another in neurophysiology. But, I am in no way equipped or prepared to deal with my wife of 48-years who has been diagnosed with rapid onset dementia and Major Depressive Disorder.

Late May this year 66-year old wife fell and suffered several fractures. In mid-June she fractured her spine. She was prescribed many opioids, muscle relaxants, anti-depressants, anti-nausea meds. Early July had kyphoplasty surgery to repair spine. She suffered several adverse side effects due to drug interactions and her hypersensitivity to opioids. She has suffered three prior life threating head traumas with two near death episodes. She has also suffered seven fractures resulting in seven major surgeries in the last eight years.

Prior to the fall she was brilliant, athletic, highly educated women who was providing full care to me after my total knee replacement. She did all the shopping, house keeping, driving, appointment management. I had seen no signs of mental decline, forgetfulness, or any indicator of dementia.

By late July she was a zombie with severe cognitive disabilities, total loss of person, time, or place. She is now very confused, refuses to talk, won't eat or drink and refuses all medication. Her weight has dropped from 93-pounds (42 kg) to 65 pounds (29 kg) with a height of 65-inches (1.6m). She is a former body builder and elite long distance runner.

August Brain MR I(w/wo contrast)I and EEG studies found no organic problems.