Young children and mother recently diagnosed with dementia

Kellym

Mar 24, 2021
Hi this is my first time posting, my mother was recently diagnosed with dementia. She lives about 4 hours away with one of my brothers but their relationship is strained. My eldest brother has gone up to live with her for a month or so to sort out power of attorney and doctors appointments. We are considering moving her in with me and my family - 3 kids (4,7,9) and sharing care with my sister who lives about 20 minutes away. I wanted to know what its like caring for an elderly parent while having young kids? Will she need consent supervision? We rent at the moment but are hoping to buy soon. I don't think the house we have is suitable for her moving in. Will a move this big have a huge effect on my mother, with things like muscle memory? I feel so lost and unsure what to do. I keep reading different forums and panicking it will be all too much. My mother looked after my grandfather and her aunt when they had dementia and its a mixture of good and bad memories. My mother has it in her head she is moving down even though I told her we (my 3 brothers and sister) have to figure out a plan. Any advice would be really appreciated. Thank you.

Sarasa

Volunteer Host
Apr 13, 2018
Nottinghamshire
Hi @Kellym and welcome to Dementia Talking Point. This is a very friendly place and you'll get lots of support and advice here.