Working vs Caring

Miss A

Oct 26, 2012
The South West
Hi all,

I am 29 and look after my Dad who has mixed middle stages of dementia. I have no outside help from SS or a private care firm.

Seeing Dad deteriorate very quickly and needing more and more help in everyday life has made me stop and think about my current career path. I work full time as a designer and graduated nearly 8 years ago with a degree in graphic design. However, being a full time carer has recently made me question if I am in the right profession. My job doesn't seem as important or satisfying anymore, it feels so, trivial now. I come home feeling frustrated and resentful having to troubleshoot peoples so call problems at work. These are not problems to me and I loose my temper at peoples over reactions that quite frankly make no difference to the world.

Has anybody experienced this before? Can dementia change your opinions, interests and beliefs. Some people have said to me that I'm just tired and over stretched but I have felt like this for months now. Looking after my Dad has made me re-evaluate what I care about and one of those things are the people and their love ones who live with dementia every day.

Thank you

Xx

Sent from my iPhone using Talking Point mobile app

ASH74

May 18, 2014
Not so much the dementia......but the caring......seeing how life can change so suddenly (from any illness) for both the "patient" and the carer...........making the most of everyday......because it can change very quickly. Being tired doesn't help and I wouldn't make any drastic decisions ATM. Hugs.....

Sent from my iPad using Talking Point

garnuft

Sep 7, 2012
I think you're wrestling with the fundamentals because of course in the greater scheme of things how you find a short cut on the computer doesn't compare with the struggles of life.

But it IS life and that takes illness, cruelty, devastion, death, joy pleasure and laughter into it's remit.