Wonderful help for Care Home searchers

Hugh

Sep 23, 2005
Hi, Mum has AD and has been in a nursing home for just over a year. Have had to find alternative care for her and amongst other sources of help I was told about the Commision for Social Care Inspection which carries out regular inspections - often un announced - on care facilities including care homes. Not only that but they also produce and publish detailed reports (and summaries) for the homes they inspect and you can access thes reports by logging on to their website which is www.csci.org.uk You can search for homes within 5,10. 15, 20, miles of your home by putting in your post code and bingo! up comes a list of them all and you can then read or download the reports which are very detailed. Sorry if this is old news for people - I am very new to the business of caring for Mum and all that is involved. Hope this news may be of help to anyone out ther struggling with deciding upon wher to get the best care for their loved ones. Best wishes, Hugh:)

noelphobic

Feb 24, 2006
Liverpool
Hi Hugh

It is a useful website and one I have used a lot. I would just urge people to not use it as their ONLY source of reference. I have read glowing reports of care and/or nursing homes and then visited them and been horrified, thinking I was in a completely different place! ALso, although some of their visits are unannounced, many of them are announced and obviously if the management are expecting a visit from the inspectors then everything will look marvellous!

The CSCI are also your first port of call if you want to make a formal complaint about a home and do not want to first make the complaint to the home. You can also lodge an anonymous complaint.

I think the best possible recommendation you can get for a home is from someone who has used it, either a resident or relative or friend who visits frequently. Obviously the same applies to warning against some homes!

Tender Face

Account Closed
Mar 14, 2006
NW England