Wills

maisiecat

Oct 12, 2023
Hi,
Hoping some of you will be able to give me some help over this. My husband has parkinsons and mixed dementia. He's in a Dementia home and no longer has legal capacity.
In 2009 we wrote mirror wills leaving our estate firstly to each other then to our 2 children. Obviously nothing can be done with my husband's will but can I now change my will to exclude my husband as a beneficiary. Our mirror will was not one that it was impossible to change. I know I will go to the solicitor eventually but will be charged about £800 which I can ill afford.
My husband's nursing home is paid between us and LA and NHS. I also pay a top up from a private legacy.
I would like to try and hold on to something for our children. My husband was a postman and I was a nurse. We were never wealthy and like so many of you an enormous amount of money is being taken from us.
Thank you for any insights

nitram

Apr 6, 2011
Bury
You can disinherit him and he can challenge the disinheritance.

This type of challenge is common on the death of a celebrity or wealthy person where relatives fight over division of the estate.
Is there an LPA or deputy?

As you said you need legal advice.

northumbrian_k

Volunteer Host
Mar 2, 2017
Newcastle
Hi @maisiecat

My wife and I had a similar situation with mirror Wills. I wanted to make changes to my beneficiaries and she agreed to do the same. Before accepting her Instructions our solicitor required proof of her capacity. Her GP found that she was unable to fully explain the changes and why she wanted to make them nor maintain a consistent line of reasoning. Her Will remains unchanged whereas mine now reflects the changes I wanted.

Where this differs from your situation is that my wife remains as sole beneficiary in the case that I predecease her. Hence the changes I have made will only have an effect if she dies before me.